​CERTIFIED HOME HEALTH AIDE TRAINING NJ

CERTIFIED HOME HEALTH AIDE TRAINING NJ

​Caliber Home Health Care offers day and night training programs to become a Certified Home Health Aide. The New Jersey Board Nursing approves our training program, and we are a training provider for the Department of Labor and Workforce Development. We also offer programs (day and night) to bridge a Certified Nurse’s Assistant (CNA) to Certified Home Health Aide.

Classes will be held at Caliber Home Health Care offices:

15 Park Avenue, Suite 304, Rutherford, NJ 07070

​Have additional questions? Contact our Rutherford office
Have additional questions? Contact our Rutherford office

​Phone: (844) 515-1983      Monday – Friday  8:00am – 6:00pm

Phone: (844) 515-1983      Monday – Friday  8:00am – 6:00pm

Caliber Home Health Care offers day and night training programs to become a Certified Home Health Aide. Our program is approved by the New Jersey Board of Nursing and we are a training provider for the Department of Labor and Workforce Development. We also provide day and night programs to bridge a Certified Nurse’s Assistant (CNA) to Certified Home Health Aide.

Caliber Home Health Care is here to enrich the lives of loved ones through quality and personalized services. Sustaining an independent yet assisted living arrangement in the comfort of your home, requires a professional and caring alternative. We are committed to providing your loved one the assistance they require to remain at home.
Home care with Caliber at home

Daytime
CHHA Classes

(CNA to CHHA Bridge Classes)

​To Be Announced

NJ Board of Nursing approved dates

NJ Board of Nursing approved dates

Evening
CHHA Classes

(CNA to CHHA Bridge Classes)

​To Be Announced

NJ Board of Nursing approved dates

Rules and Requirements

​What is a Certified Home Health Aide (CHHA)?

​Home Health Aides assist those who can no longer complete their activities of daily living on their own. Primarily, personal care such as bathing, dressing, and feeding services are provided to the clients, so they are allowed to stay in the comfort of their own home.

​How do I become a Certified Home Health Aide?
How do I become a Certified Home Health Aide?

​The CHHA course consists of 60 hours of class lecture and 16 hours of training in our on-site skills lab. Upon completion of the program, students will have the knowledge and skills required by the New Jersey State Board of Nursing to become a Certified Home Health Aide.

The CHHA course consists of 60 hours of class lecture and 16 hours of training in our on-site skills lab. Upon completion of the program, students will have the knowledge and skills required by the New Jersey State Board of Nursing to become a Certified Home Health Aide.

​I’m a CNA in NJ can I become a CHHA?
I’m a CNA in NJ can I become a CHHA?

​The CNA to CHHA bridge class consists of 10 hours of class lecture covering the required Home Care Module. You must have an active NJ CNA license to take this class. Once training is complete, students will have the knowledge required by the New Jersey State Board of Nursing to become a Certified Home Health Aide.

The CNA to CHHA bridge class consists of 10 hours of class lecture covering the required Home Care Module. You must have an active NJ CNA license to take this class. Once training is complete, students will have the knowledge required by the New Jersey State Board of Nursing to become a Certified Home Health Aide.

​What are the requirements to become a CHHA?
What are the requirements to become a CHHA?

​Applicants must be 18 years of age, U.S. citizens or qualified legal alien, and have the ability to read, write and speak English proficiently. They must be physically capable of participating in classwork such as lifting, getting patients out of bed, giving bed baths, aiding transfers for those with limited mobility, and other patient-related care.

The NJ Board requires that applicants be current on child support obligations, not be in default of student loans, and not previously convicted on any “Disqualify Crimes.” You will have to pass a criminal background check, and fingerprinting is required.

You will be asked to demonstrate that you can read and write English. You must bring your government issued I.D. and your social security card to register for the class. If you are not a U.S. citizen, you must bring proof of eligibility to work in the USA. A birth certificate is required for the Board of Nursing application.

Applicants must be 18 years of age, U.S. citizens or qualified legal alien, and have the ability to read, write and speak English proficiently. They must be physically capable of participating in class work such as lifting, getting patients out of bed, giving bed baths, aiding transfers for those with limited mobility, and other patient related care. The NJ Board requires that applicants be current on child support obligations, not be in default of student loans, not been convicted on any “Disqualify Crimes”. You will have to pass a criminal background check and be fingerprinted. You will be asked to demonstrate that you can read and write English. You must bring your government issued ID and your social security card to register for the class. If you are not a US citizen you must bring in proof of eligibility to work in the USA. A birth certificate is also required for the Board of Nursing application.
​How much does the class cost?
How much does the class cost?
What are the requirements to become a CHHA?

​For pricing, please contact our offices as we run enrollment specials continuously.

 *For the CHHA Classes, the textbook is included in the tuition.


For Pricing please contact our offices, as we run enrollment specials on a continuous basis. *For the CHHA Classes, the textbook is included in the tuition.
​Are there any other fees besides the class fees?
Are there any other fees besides the class fees?
What are the requirements to become a CHHA?

  • ​The Board of Nursing charges $80.00 for the application fee and licensing fee. This must be sent to the Board with your application in the form of a Money Order. Made payable to the NJ Board of Nursing.
    The Board of Nursing charges $80.00 for the application fee and licensing fee. This must be sent to the Board with your application in
         the form of a Money Order. Made payable to the NJ Board of Nursing.

  • ​Notepad and pen. (Bring your own or buy from us for $10)
     Notepad and pen (Bring your own or buy from us for $10)

  • ​Scrubs are required to be worn every day. (Bring your own or buy monogrammed scrubs from us for $150)
    Scrubs are required to be worn every day (Bring your own or buy monogrammed scrubs from us for $150)
​What types of payments do you accept?
What types of payments do you accept?
What are the requirements to become a CHHA?

​We accept Cash, Money Orders and Credit Cards. Credit Card transactions must include a 2.5% processing fee for payments or refunds.

We accept Cash, Money Orders and Credit Cards. Credit Card transactions must include a 2.5% processing fee for payments or refunds.

​What happens if class is cancelled or delayed?
What happens if class is cancelled or delayed?
What are the requirements to become a CHHA?

​If for any reason your booked class is delayed or cancelled you may obtain a refund or apply your payments to a future scheduled class.

If for any reason your booked class is delayed or cancelled you may obtain a refund or apply your payments to a future scheduled class.
​When is payment due for class?
When is payment due for class?
What are the requirements to become a CHHA?

  • ​The $100.00 registration fee is due as soon as possible to secure your spot.
    The $100.00 registration fee is due as soon as possible to secure your spot.
  • ​Failure to pay tuition in full, your spot will be offered to an alternate student.
    Failure to pay tuition in full, your spot will be offered to an alternate student
  • ​You will only be allowed to switch classes once.
    You will only be allowed to switch classes once.
​What if I can’t make the first day of class or a day in between?
What if I can’t make the first day of class or a day in between?

What are the requirements to become a CHHA?

​Unfortunately, attendance is mandatory. The Board of Nursing will not be able to certify you if you do not complete all 76 hours of training. Please make sure to arrange for child care or move non-urgent appointments before or after the class.

Unfortunately, attendance is mandatory. The Board of Nursing will not be able to certify you if you do not complete all 76 hours of training. Please make sure to arrange for child care or move non-urgent appointments to before or after the class.
​What if I need to make up a class due to an emergency?
What if I need to make up a class due to an emergency?
What are the requirements to become a CHHA?

​For half a day, it will cost an additional $30.00 and must be scheduled with one of the instructors.

If you have to make a full day, it will cost an additional $70.00 and will have to be scheduled with one of the instructors or during the next available course.

If you have to miss a class that can’t be avoided, there will be makeup fees. If you miss anything more than one day, you will not be able to graduate from the course.

If you have to miss a class that can’t be avoided, there will be make up fees.
For half a day, it will cost an additional $30.00 and must be scheduled with one of the instructors.
If you have to make a full day, it will cost an additional $70.00 and will have to be scheduled with one of the instructors or during the next available course. If you miss anything more than 1 day, you will not be able to graduate the course. 
​What if I can’t make the whole class I signed up for and need to cancel?

What if I can’t make the whole class I signed up for and need to cancel?
What are the requirements to become a CHHA?

​Cancellation with a full refund (less $100 registration fee) will be provided if requested one week or more prior to the start of class. A cancellation fee of total tuition will be charged if canceled less than one week before class starts.

You may request a transfer to an alternate class one time. To request a transfer of courses, please come into the office and fill out the proper forms.

Cancellation with full refund (less $100 registration fee) will be provided if requested one week or more prior to start of class. Cancellation fee of full tuition will be charged if cancelled less than 1 week before class starts. You may request a transfer to an alternate class one time. To request a transfer of classes, please come into the office and fill out the proper forms.
​What are the class rules?
What are the class rules?
What are the requirements to become a CHHA?

  • ​Be present in class every day wearing scrubs, arrive on time and will not leave until dismissed by the teacher.
  • ​Not use a cell phone while in class or be disruptive in any way. You get only 1 warning.
  • ​Park in the designated back parking area by fence. See map by the front entrance.
  • ​Leave class if you need to use the bathroom. Do not wait for breaks.
  • ​Have breakfast before class and bring a lunch & snacks to keep energy up during class.
  • ​Not work an overnight shift the night before class.
  • ​Not congregate in groups at the entrances of the building – no loitering & no smoking within 25 feet of the building.
  • ​Not utilize the bathrooms in groups during breaks. We need to avoid overcrowding the bathrooms.
  • ​Not curse, fight, scream, argue, or be disruptive while in class, outside the classroom, or in the general building.
  • ​Respect the building and the other office tenants- Keep your voices down while in the hall.
​I will need employment after the class is finished… do you hire?
I will need employment after the class is finished… do you hire?
What are the requirements to become a CHHA?

​If you would like to be employed by Caliber Home Health Care after completing the class, complete our form on the Careers page.

If you would like to be employed by Caliber Home Health Care after completing the class, complete our form on the Careers page.
Rules and Requirements
CERTIFIED HOME HEALTH AIDE TRAINING NJ
Caliber Home Health Care offers day and night training programs to become a Certified Home Health Aide. Our program is approved by the New Jersey Board of Nursing and we are a training provider for the Department of Labor and Workforce Development. We also provide day and night programs to bridge a Certified Nurse’s Assistant (CNA) to Certified Home Health Aide.

Caliber Home Health Care is here to enrich the lives of loved ones through quality and personalized services. Sustaining an independent yet assisted living arrangement in the comfort of your home, requires a professional and caring alternative. We are committed to providing your loved one the assistance they require to remain at home.
Home care with Caliber at home

​Register for Class

Ready to Request Care?

Ready to Request Care?

​Call 24/7  1-844-515-1983

 1-844-515-1983

Register for Class

Caliber Home Health Care